beijing 2022: what is happenening

by   |  VIEW 1116

beijing 2022: what is happenening

The Japanese women's team pursuit team consisting of Sato Ayano, Takagi Miho and Takagi Nana broke their own Olympic record set four years ago in PyeongChang, at the Beijing 2022 Olympic Games. They scored 2: 53.61 in the quarter-finals.

In cross-country skiing, women's 4x5 km relay, Russia comes back and finishes taking gold in 53: 41.0 with the quartet formed by Yulia Stupak, Natalia Nepryaeva, Tatiana Sorina and Veronika Stepanova. Silver to Germany who had finished the second and third fractions in the lead.

Final time of 53: 59.2 with 18.2 seconds delay. Sweden is third at +20.7. Gold in mixed snowboard cross went to veterans Lindsey Jacobellis and Nick Baumgartner, the oldest athletes competing in snowboard cross in Beijing 2022.

Silver for the Italian couple Moioli-Visintin. Baumgartner said: "These tears are so much better than the other day's. I can't say how much pressure it takes away when you know you have someone like Lindsey in the gate after you.

When you don't have to worry about things, you see your best comes out. Age? We look younger than everyone." Here is what happened today at the Beijing 2022 Olympics. Marco Odermatt, after the giant's award ceremony, as reported by the official Olympic site, said: "It's incredible.

It was a difficult day, with the conditions, with this long wait between the two heats. It was more than five hours for me, it was such a long time to rethink everything and it was hard to stay focused. I tried to get some sleep in between."

Silver medal to the Slovenian Kranjec in 2: 09.54, bronze medal to the French Faivre in 2: 10.69. In women's Biathlon, 10km pursuit, gold for the Norwegian Roeiseland who completes a practically perfect race in 34: 46.9, silver to the Swedish Oeberg (+1: 36.5) and bronze to the other Norwegian Eckhoff (+1.48.7).

In the background, men's 4x10km relay, gold to Russia. The Russian team closes in 1: 54.50, with one minute ahead of Norway (1: 55.57) who takes the silver. Bronze for France which closes in 1: 56.07.

Laureus Awards: Brady, Dressel, Djokovic, Ledecky, McKeon

The names of all the nominees for the World Sports Awards, the Oscars of sport, have been announced.

Six tennis players stand out among the nominees, and above all the name of Novak Djokovic. The jury, made up of 1300 journalists from all over the world, will vote the winners for each category and the awards ceremony will be held in April in virtual mode, and will be followed by the vote of a noble jury of 71 sports legends.

Novak Djokovic is also among the candidates for the Sportsman of the Year award. After the exciting season lived last year, in which the Serbian number one came close to the grand slam by winning three slams out of four and surrendering in the final to Medvedev at the US Open (last major of the year), Djokovic was at the center of an international case for his exclusion from the Australian Open for reasons related to his vaccination status, a tournament later won by Nadal who beat him by a slam (21 against 20).

The Serbian will return to the field at the ATP 500 in Dubai. The other nominees for this award are Max Verstappen (winner of the F1 world championship), Tom Brady (historic quarterback who at 44 this year will bid farewell to American football after 22 years), Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski, the American swimmer.

Caeleb Dressel and Olympic gold medalist Eliud Kipchoge in the marathon. In the women's category, nomination for recent Australian Open champion Ashleigh Barty. The Australian tennis player will compete for the prize against Katie Ledecky (USA) and Emma McKeon (Australia), the two sprinters Elaine Thompson-Herah (Jamaica) and Allyson Felix (USA) and the Spanish footballer Alexia Putellas.

Daniil Medvedev and Emma Raducanu, both returning from a 2021 in which they won their first career slam (albeit at different ages), are candidates for the revelation award of the year. Among the other candidates also the Barcelona footballer Pedri, also protagonist with the Spanish national team.

The two wheelchair players Diede De Groot (Netherlands) and Shingo Kunieda (Japan) are vying for the disability sportsman of the year award. In the Team of the Year category there is also the Italian national football team, victorious at the Europeans, which will have to overcome the competition of the Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 team, which has won the eighth consecutive constructors' world title; the Milwaukee Bucks, reigning NBA champions; of the Argentine national football team, winner of the Copa America; and the Chinese Olympic diving team, which has won seven gold medals in the eight competitions in which it participated.