Jacob Malkoun does not accept the disqualification at Fight Night 228 last Saturday

Jacob Malkoun about being disqualified last match

by Sededin Dedovic
Jacob Malkoun does not accept the disqualification at Fight Night 228 last Saturday
© Carmen Mandato / Getty Images

Last Saturday at Fight Night 228 we witnessed the unkillable disqualification of Jacob Malkoun (7-3 MMA, 3-3 UFC). He fought Cody Brundage (9-5 MMA, 3-4 UFC) and opened the match very well. It was seen that he had a great chance to win, even some journalists announced that he would achieve his fourth victory.

At one point, Malcoun delivered an awkward elbow to the head, so the match was paused. Mark Smith refereed this match, and after watching the replay, he decided to disqualify Jacob Malkoun and declare an illegal blow. It was immediately noticed that Jacob Malkoun did not accept it because he kept repeating that it was not a blow to the back of the head.

Of course, we all saw the slow-motion footage, it was very difficult to judge, but in the end, everyone agreed with the judge's decision. It was sad to see Malkoun so disappointed because he probably had no intention of an illegal strike, but that's why we always say that luck is the most important thing in combat sports.

Jacob Malkoun spoke on his Instagram profile and tried to explain what actually happened

"I’ve had some time to think.
I just want to make it clear that the shot was UNINTENTIONAL, as I was throwing the elbow to the side of his head he turned his back to me.

Really the forearm hit his trap so it wasn’t the back of the head anyways.
I’ve lost the bout and some money after dominating which leaves a sour taste in my mouth. But then I remind myself, the morning of the fight I prayed to god asking for two things, to perform to the best of my abilities and show all the hard work I’ve put in, the second was to keep my health.
So in the end god gave me both of these things so it’s not that bad.
Onto the next!"