Atletico Madrid

Atletico Madrid is a Spanish soccer club based in Madrid and plays in the Primera División, the top division of the Spanish football championship.

It is the fourth Spanish team in terms of number of national titles (26), having won 11 top division championships, 10 King's Cups and 5 League Super Cups (2 Spanish Super Cups, 2 Eva Duarte Cup and 1 RFEF President Cup), and the third for trophies achieved at international level (8), boasting the victory of a Cup Winners' Cup (1961-62), 3 Europa Leagues (2009-10, 2011-12 and 2017-18), 3 UEFA Super Cups (2010, 2012 and 2018) and an Intercontinental Cup (1974). It is therefore, with 34 official trophies in total, the fourth most successful club in Spain, after Barcelona, Real Madrid and Athletic Bilbao.

Atlético Madrid is the only team to have won the Intercontinental Cup without having won the UEFA Champions League, then an indispensable requirement to access the event. In 1974, in fact, following Bayern Munich's refusal to participate, the Madrid team met and defeated the Argentine side Independiente, reigning champions of the Copa Libertadores and holders of the Intercontinental Cup. It is also the only team in the history of Europe's top club tournament to have played in the final three times (1974, 2014, 2016) without ever managing to become champion.