Brooklyn Nets

The Brooklyn Nets, born as the New York Americans in 1967 in the ABA, known from 1968 to 1977 as the New York Nets and subsequently in the NBA as the New Jersey Nets until 2012, the year of the move to Brooklyn, are one of the thirty basketball franchises that they play in the top US professional league, the NBA. The franchise is based in Brooklyn, one of the boroughs of New York, and plays its home games at the Barclays Center. Since moving to Brooklyn, the Nets have qualified for the playoffs on eight occasions, including trips to the Conference Semifinals in 2014 and 2021.

From 1968 to 1976 the team was part of the American Basketball Association (ABA) under the name of the New York Nets, played on Long Island and won the ABA title twice, becoming the second most successful franchise in the history of the defunct league. In 1976, the ABA merged with the NBA, and the Nets were absorbed into the NBA along with three other ABA teams all of whom remain in the league to this day.