Arizona Cardinals

The Arizona Cardinals are an NFL football team based in Tempe, a suburb of Phoenix, Arizona. They compete in the West Division of the National Football Conference.

Longest-running American football franchise in the United States, having been founded in 1898, they were a founding member of the NFL in 1920, as the Chicago Cardinals, and one of only two remaining, along with the Chicago Bears. They have won two NFL championships, in 1925 and 1947. The first and only Super Bowl appearance in their history was in the 2008 season, where they were defeated by the Pittsburgh Steelers. The Cardinals are the league's longest-serving championship team.

According to Forbes magazine, their value is approximately $2.65 billion, twenty-seventh among NFL franchises.

The Cardinals are the longest running American football team having been founded in 1898 and, along with the Chicago Bears, were a founding member of the NFL. They originally played in Chicago. In 1960 the franchise moved to St. Louis, where it remained until 1987.

Here the team was referred to as the football Cardinals, Big Red, Gridbirds or Cardiac Cards to distinguish it from the baseball team of the St. Louis Cardinals, a member of the MLB. Prior to the 1988 season, the owners moved to Tempe, Arizona, a college town near Phoenix, and played their home games at Arizona State University's Sun Devil Stadium for 18 years. In 2006, the Cardinals' new home became the new University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, another Phoenix suburb.