New York Knicks

The New York Knicks are one of the most prestigious and famous teams in the history of the National Basketball Association (NBA). Based at Madison Square Garden in Manhattan, the Knicks are known for their fervent fans and tradition of great basketball. The golden era of the Knicks occurred in the 1990s, when they were led by players like Patrick Ewing, Charles Oakley, and John Starks. During the 1993-1994 season, the Knicks reached the NBA Finals, but were defeated by the Houston Rockets. In recent years, the Knicks have struggled to achieve success, often missing the playoffs. However, the team experienced a resurgence in the 2020-2021 season, reaching the playoffs for the first time since 2013.

Among the oldest teams in the NBA, the Knicks have always played in New York since their foundation in 1946. In their history they have reached the playoffs 43 times out of a total of 76 participations and the NBA Finals eight times: 1951, 1952, 1953, 1970, 1972, 1973, 1994 and 1999; winning in 1970 and 1973. The franchise's colors are orange and blue, the same as the city of New York, and the logo has been a basketball since its inception. The team, founded by Ned Irish in 1946, was a founding member of the Basketball Association of America (BAA), which became the NBA after merging with the rival National Basketball League (NBL) in 1949. According to Forbes magazine, the New York Knicks are the third most valuable sports club in the world and the first in the NBA, estimated at approximately $4.6 billion.