Luthi said Roger Federer will fail to be at Wimbledon 2022

by   |  VIEW 309

Luthi said Roger Federer will fail to be at Wimbledon 2022

At the moment, however, it is not yet certain whether Roger Federer will be able to play a game in this new year. One of his coaches Severin Luthi spoke to Tages Anzeiger giving a brief update especially on the physical condition of the twenty-time slam winner: "Roger is still undergoing rehabilitation.

Even though he is not training with the racket and ball yet, he is toning the muscles. He is working out in the gym. He is not only strengthening his knee or leg muscles, but his whole body as well. He is working on a conditioning program.

At the moment, I don't imagine him present at Wimbledon. I won't be saying it's impossible, but I can't imagine him there at the moment." Roger returned to the field last season for a short period, but still had to deal with the knee, realizing that he could not compete at the highest level despite the fourth round at Roland Garros and the quarterfinals.

final in Wimbledon. The pain, in fact, forced him to undergo surgery again. This time around, he's trying to take things cautiously and won't force a new return. Luthi believes Roger will not be present at Wimbledon In the coming weeks, Federer plans to start training with his wife Mirka.

In this way, he will begin to find the feeling with the racket and from the sensations that he will get, he will take the next step, which is to undergo the training of Pierre Paganini, which requires a little more to his knee and body.

A few weeks ago, together with Rafael Nadal with a joint post on Instagram, he had formalized his presence for the double at the Laver Cup which will be held from 23 to 25 September at the O2 Arena in London. There is a serious possibility that that could be the only time we will see him in action in 2022.

ATP Indian Wells: Novak Djokovic is registered

The show of the 2022 Indian Wells ATP Master 1000 will begin on Monday 7 March, the first ATP tournament of this category in the calendar of the 2022 season of the Tour. The BNP Paribas Open proved to be an event full of surprises: four non-top-tier tennis players reached the semifinals and in the end British Cameron Norrie took advantage of the opportunity and took home the title, as well as the points needed to get the second place from reserve to the Nitto Atp Finals (participating due to the injury of Stefanos Tsitsipas).

Novak Djokovic is currently registered, although at this moment he does not have permission to enter Florida to play, therefore remaining at the window waiting for further news. Matteo Berrettini is also present at the moment, struggling with a new physical problem.

Novak Djokovic's 2022 didn't start in the best way. The world number 2 was unable to defend the title at the Australian Open due to the well-known vaccination issue, which also caused him serious damage to his image.

The Serbian veteran made his season debut in Dubai last week, but his run was cut short in the quarterfinals at the hands of revived Jiri Vesely. This defeat cost Nole the first place in the ATP ranking in favor of the Russian Daniil Medvedev, who reached the semifinal in Acapulco.

It is unclear when Djokovic will be able to return to the pitch given recent news from the United States and France. If there is no relaxation of restrictions in the coming months, the 34-year-old from Belgrade risks seeing his year jeopardized.

The entry list:

Novak Djokovic
Daniil Medvedev
Alexander Zverev
Stefanos Tsitsipas
Rafael Nadal
Matteo Berrettini
Andrey Rublev
Casper Ruud
Felix Auger-Aliassime
Jannik Sinner
Hubert Hurkacz
Denis Shapovalov
Cameron Norrie
Aslan Karatsev
Diego Schwartzman
Pablo Carreno Busta
Roberto Bautista Agut
Gael Monfils
Taylor Fritz
Cristian Garin
Nikoloz Basilashvili
Lorenzo Sonego
Reilly Opelka
Marin Cilic
Grigor Dimitrov
John Isner
Daniel Evans
Karen Khachanov
Carlos Alcaraz
Alexander Bublik
Albert Ramos-Vinolas
Frances Tiafoe
Alex De Minaur
Lloyd Harris
Filip Krajinovic
Dusan Lajovic
Marton Fucsovics
Dominic Thiem
Fabio Fognini
Ugo Humbert
Federico Delbonis
Tommy Paul
Sebastian Korda
Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
David Goffin
Ilya Ivashka
Mackenzie McDonald
Benoit Paire
Botic van de Zandschulp
Dominik Koepfer
Soonwoo Kwon
Jenson Brooksby
James Duckworth
Laslo Djere
Adrian Mannarino
Jan-Lennard Struff
Maxime Cressy
Arthur Rinderknech
Pedro Martinez
Tallon Griekspoor
Lorenzo Musetti
Miomir Kecmanovic
Federico Coria
Alexei Popyrin
Gianluca Mager
Benjamin Bonzi
Hugo Gastin
Marcos Giron
Emil Ruusuvuori
Alex Molcan
Pablo Andujar
Sebastian Baez
Mikael Ymer
Facundo Bagnis
Richard Gasquet
Borna Coric PR
Pablo Cuevas PR
Aljaz Bedene PR