The champion who wrote the history of the US Open

by   |  VIEW 111

The champion who wrote the history of the US Open

The US Open 2020 will be a different event than in the past. This year between safety protocols and very important absences, the New York Slam will experience one of the most atypical seasons of its long history, in the bubble of the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

There won't be many stars: out Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Gael Monfils, Fabio Fognini, Stan Wawrinka, Nick Kyrgios, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Lucas Pouille, Pierre-Hugues Herbert, Nicolas Jarry, Ashleigh Barty, Simona Halep, Elina Svitolina, Andreescu, Kiki Bertens, Belinda Bencic, Wang Qiang, Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, Saisai Zheng, Julia Goerges, Barbora Strycova, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Fiona Ferro, Lin Zhu, Yafan Wang, Anastasia Potapanova and Samantha Stosur.

But history has taught us that the US Open is sometimes an unpredictable tournament for outsiders, but there are tennis players who wrote the history of the American Slam Game. Richard Sears was the first star of the US Open, when the tournament was still called U.S.

National Championships, and he won the event for 7 consecutive years. The following seasons saw the emergence of champions such as Oliver Campbell (3 titles), Robert Wrenn (4 titles) and Malcolm Whitman (3 titles). Until 1903 there were only American champions, before the hegemony was interrupted by the British Lawrence Doherty.

Williams Learned preceded the arrival of Bill Tilden (both winners of 7 titles), before and after the First World War. The arrival of the Frenchmen stopped the American domination after the War; before Renè Lacoste (2 times) then Henri Cochet won the title.

Ellen Hansell was the first winner of the women's tournament, in 1887. In the first years of life the tournament experienced many winners, including Juliette Atkinson (3 titles) and Elizabeth Moore (4 titles), but the golden period came first, during and after the First World War, when Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman (4 titles), Mary Browne (3 titles), Molla Bjurstedt Mallory (8 titles, record) and Helen Wills Moody (7 titles) dominated the tournament for a period of 21 years.

Between the two Wars and the Open Era

Fred Perry (3 titles) preceded Don Budge, Bobby Riggs, Jack Kramer and Pancho Gonzales, before the Australian domination. Between the 1960s and the 1970s there were many champions such as Rod Laver, Roy Emerson, Manolo Santana, Ilie Nastase and Jimmy Connors.

In 1968, the victory of Arthur Ashe, the first Afro-American tennis player to win the men's singels, in one of the most important and indeterminable moments in the tournament's history. In the 1930s Helen Hull Jacobs (4 titles) preceded the victory of Anita Lizana; the Chilean was the first Latin-American player to win a Grand Slam in women's singles.

between the late '30s and the end of the' 50s, other great women's tennis stars emerged, who wrote pages of important history at the US Open: Alice Marble (4 titles), Pauline Betz (4 titles), Margaret Osborne duPont (3 titles, but she is the most successful US Open player ever with 25 global titles!), Maureen Connolly (3 titles) and Doris Hart (2 titles).

Maria Bueno (4 titles), witnessed the rise of Margaret Smith (5 titles) and Billie Jean King (4 titles), who challenged each other in a heated rivalry. Rivalry between the '70s and' 80s that saw Martina Navratilova (4 titles) and Chris Evert (6 titles) as protagonists.

Between the end of the 70s and the end of the 80s, the tournament was monopolized by John McEnroe, winner of 4 titles, Jimmy Connors, winner of 4 titles, and Ivan Lendl, winner of three titles. The 90s were the years of the great rivalry between Pete Sampras and Andre Agassi, who won 6 titles (4 Sampras and 2 Agassi), but also by the win of Stefan Edberg (3) and Patrick Rafter (2).

Between the 80s and the 90s the protagonists at Flushing Meadows were Steffi Graf (5 titles) and Monica Seles (2 titles). With the new millennium the stars were 8and some still are!) Serena and Venus Williams (respectively with 6 and 2 titles), Kim Clijisters (3 titles), Justin Henin (2 titles) and Maria Sharapova.

In the last 4 years there has always been a surprising winner; Flavia Pennetta, Angelique Kerber, Sloane Stephens and Naomi Osaka. With the new millennium came a new ruler, Roger Federer, able to win the title for five consecutive seasons, the last few years have marked the victories of Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic (both 3 times champions), and the triumphs of some outsiders ( like Marin Cilic, Stan Wawrinka and Juan Martin del Potro), who were able to do a great goal in the era dominated by the Big Theree.

Without considering the historical triumph of Andy Murray in 2012, the first British tennis player since Fred Perry to win a Slam Title.