Rafael Nadal and Naomi Osaka got the Laureus Award!

by   |  VIEW 187

Rafael Nadal and Naomi Osaka got the Laureus Award!

Yet another great recognition for the Spanish and world tennis legend Rafael Nadal. The twenty-time winner of Grand Slam titles won the Athlete of the Year award for the fourth time in his career with the Laureus Award, a prestigious award announced annually.

Great recognition for the tennis player currently engaged in the quarter-finals of the Madrid tournament, who won the thirteenth Roland Garros of his legendary career in 2020, a Grand Slam that allowed him to reach 20 at the top of this special ranking.

opponent Roger Federer. The Spaniard, who intervened electronically, said: "For me personally, reaching 13 Roland Garros in my career and equaling Roger Federer's 20 Slam record is an incredible and certainly unforgettable moment for me."

The Spanish champion has beaten legends such as Lewis Hamilton, LeBron James and Bayern Munich player Robert Lewandowski, as well as other sportsmen such as Joshua Cheptegei and Armand Duplantis. From the victory of the Pole to the title conquests with the Los Angeles Lakers of LeBron, it was a struggle until the end but it was then Rafa Nadal who achieved the desired success.

Other personalities related to the world of sport have been awarded for other results such as the Japanese champion Naomi Osaka or the historic champion of 23 Grand Slam titles Billie Jean King. This 2021 could lead Rafael Nadal towards yet another great record of his extraordinary career: the Spaniard, winner of the title in Barcelona and now the main favorite for the Mutua Madrid Open, starts as the main candidate to win Roland Garros, a tournament that would allow him to achieve 14 success in Paris and above all to become with twenty-one Grand Slam titles the most successful tennis player in the history of this sport, in the male category.

Nadal is currently involved in the Masters 1000 in Madrid where he starts as the main favorite, today he will perhaps challenge the main opponent probably in the tournament, or the other Top Ten and German tennis player Alexander Zverev, an opponent who has already beaten him in the past.

Rafael Nadal dominates Roger Federer and Djokovic in one statistic

Rafael Nadal will surely be remembered as one of the best tennis players of all time and the Spanish champion has over the years strung record after record, surpassing all his opponents.

His best stats come on clay, but overall the winner of 20 Grand Slam titles is the player with the best win-loss rate in tennis history. Thanks to the recent title victory in the ATP 500 in Barcelona, ​​Rafa has again surpassed world number one Novak Djokovic: for years now the two of them have been dueling on this particular statistic, in front of all the other opponents and quite clearly the other member of the Big Three Roger Federer.

With Nadal's victory in Barcelona and Novak Djokovic's defeat against Aslan Karatsev in the semifinal of the Serbia Open in Belgrade there was a new overtaking and with the record of 83.12% Nadal is the tennis player with the highest victory percentage of the history of tennis.

Rafael Nadal's numbers are incredible, the Spaniard has won 1015 victories and 206 defeats in his career, Novak Djokovic's record of 946 wins and 194 defeats is ahead with a percentage just under 82.98%. In this particular ranking Roger Federer is fourth with 82.04% but it must be recognized that the Swiss has played almost 300 more games than Nadal and almost 400 more games than Novak Djokovic.

In the Top Ten of all time there is also the British Andy Murray, in tenth place, and once again showing his great career results. Here is the Top Ten of tennis players with the best win percentage of all time, we also see other tennis legends such as Bjorn Borg, Pete Sampras and John McEnroe.

Rafael Nadal (1015-206) 83.12% (Win rate)
Novak Djokovic (946-194) 82.98%
Bjorn Borg (654-140) 82.36%
Roger Federer (1243-272) 82.04%
Jimmy Connors (1274-283) 81.82%
John McEnroe (883-198) 81.68%
Ivan Lendl (1068-242) 81.52%
Rod Laver (576-146) 79.77%
Pete Sampras (762-222) 77.44%
Andy Murray (677-202) 77.02%