Taylor Fritz against the 2022 ATP Awards

by   |  VIEW 202

Taylor Fritz against the 2022 ATP Awards

Taylor Fritz had the best season of his career and ended 2022 in ninth position in the world rankings. The American tennis player first reached the round of 16 at the Australian Open and won the first Masters 1000 in Indian Wells by beating Rafael Nadal in the final.

Fritz was then good at rearing his head after a fluctuating clay season. He first lifted the Eastbourne title to the skies and then played in the quarterfinals at Wimbledon, where he lost a sensational match against an injured Nadal.

The premature defeat suffered on his debut at the US Open did not prevent him from qualifying for the ATP Finals; qualification arrived also thanks to the forfeit of Carlos Alcaraz. The American took advantage of his opportunity and passed the Green Group by eliminating Nadal and Felix Auger-Aliassime.

Fritz's journey in Turin was only interrupted in the semifinal against Novak Djokovic, then winner of the tournament.

Taylor Fritz against the 2022 ATP Awards

Like every year, the ATP has published the nominations for the ATP Awards.

Fritz was not chosen for the Most Improved Player Of The Year award and protested the decision made by the Association of Tennis Professionals on his Twitter account. The four players who will compete for the prize will be Carlos Alcaraz, Holger Rune, Maxime Cressy and Jack Draper.

"I feel like I should have been nominated for this award. Not saying I should have won or anything, but maybe just a nomination," wrote Fritz. Nick Kyrgios instead joked about the title of best coach of the year. The Australian decided to compete without relying on a coach and commented on the nominations as follows: "To be honest, I should be the coach of the year: I coached myself up to the Wimbledon final." Kyrgios reached his first Grand Slam final right on the All England Club lawns, but then lost in four sets to Djokovic.

The ATP Coach Of The Year award will see Goran Ivanisevic, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Christian Ruud, Michael Russell and Frederic Fontang fight for victory.