UEFA Champions League could change format!

by   |  VIEW 163

UEFA Champions League could change format!

From next seasons, UEFA Champions League could change format! According to the Times, no more groups, but 36 teams in a league. The reason could be to play more games. The eight groups of four teams would disappear and the number of clubs involved could increase to 36.

Without groups, each club would play 10 games, five at home and five away, against 10 different opponents. At this point, the top sixteen would compete in the round of 16, while those who finish between 17th and 24th would be relegated to the Europa League.

The reform could come into effect starting in 2024. Discussions will continue during the week, when UEFA will submit the idea to various stakeholders including the European Club Association, but in the meantime there is a desire for a new format to increase the attractiveness of the Champions League.

The revolution started in 2016, but when it was stopped. In its place, here is a new Champions from 2018: four places guaranteed to Italy, with new prizes and three ranking bands. There was already talk, from 2021, of playing games also on weekends and outside of Europe.

UEFA Champions League 2020-2021: the situation of the groups

Here the situation of the groups, with qualified and eliminated clubs and the points in the groups. CLUBS QUALIFIED TEAMS
Group A: Bayern Munich (mathematically first)
Group C: Manchester City, Porto
Group D: Liverpool (mathematically first)
Group E: Chelsea (mathematically first), Sevilla
Group F: Borussia Dortmund
Group G: Barcelona, ​​Juventus CLUBS ELIMINATED
Group A: Lokomotiv Moscow
Group C: Marseille, Olympiacos
Group D: Midtjylland (fourth place mathematician)
Group E: Krasnodar, Rennes (fourth place mathematician)
Group F: Zenit
Group G: Dynamo Kiev, Ferencvaros
Group H: Istanbul Başakşehir (fourth place mathematician) GROUP A
Bayern Munich (13 points) - Atletico Madrid (6) - RB Salzburg (4) - Lokomotiv Moscow (3) GROUP B
Borussia Monchengladbach (8) - Real Madrid (7) - Shakhtar Donetsk (7) - Milan International (5) GROUP C
Manchester City (13) - Porto (10) - Olympiacos (3) - Marseille (3) GROUP D
Liverpool (12) - Atalanta (8) - Ajax (7) - Midtjylland (1) GROUP E
Chelsea (13) - Seville (10) - Krasnodar (4) - Rennes (1) GROUP F
Borussia Dortmund (10) - Lazio (9) - Club Bruges (7) - Zenit (1) GROUP G
Barcelona (15) - Juventus (12) - Dynamo Kiev (1) - Ferencvaros (1) GROUP H
Manchester United (9) - Paris Saint-Germain (9) - Leipzig (9) - Istanbul Başakşehir (3)