Fully Deserved: Lamar Jackson Enters History as Elite Double MVP

For the second time in his career, Jackson was named the season's MVP after 49 out of 50 journalists and commentators with the right to vote gave him the maximum number of points in the MVP race

by Sededin Dedovic
Fully Deserved: Lamar Jackson Enters History as Elite Double MVP
© Rob Carr / Getty Images

The memory of Lamar Jackson's (27) heartbreaking loss to Patrick Mahomes in the AFC Championship that ended the Baltimore Ravens' Super Bowl aspirations didn't sway voters in the prestigious NFL MVP race. For the second time in his career, Jackson was named the league's Most Valuable Player, which was almost unanimously supported by the media and commentators.

An astonishing 49 out of 50 voters awarded him maximum points, marking one of the most convincing wins in the history of this prestigious individual award. But even more interesting is that Jackson won his first MVP award with the maximum 50 votes.

Leading a revamped Ravens team, Jackson amassed a remarkable 493 points out of a possible 500, leaving his competition far behind. Dak Prescott of the Dallas Cowboys finished second with 152 points, followed by Super Bowl-ready Christian McCaffrey of the San Francisco 49ers with 147 points.

Huge difference between first and second place, and when the points of second, third and fourth place are added up, they still have more than Jackson. This year's voting used the familiar 10-5-3-2-1 scoring system, and only one member of the selection panel differed from giving Jackson the top score.

That lone dissenter chose Buffalo Bills quarterback Josh Allen. At 28, Jackson becomes the youngest player to win two MVP awards since the merger of the AFC and NFC conferences. While his 493 points are impressive, they fall short of his perfect score in 2019, when he joined Tom Brady as the only players in history to receive all 50 first-place votes.

The Super Bowl stage will feature a clash between the defending champion Kansas City Chiefs and the San Francisco 49ers. A look back at recent MVP winners: 2023: Lamar Jackson
2022: Patrick Mahomes
2021: Aaron Rodgers
2020: Aaron Rodgers
2019: Lamar Jackson
2018: Patrick Mahomes
2017: Tom Brady
2016: Matt Ryan
2015: Cam Newton
2014: Aaron Rodgers Jackson's second MVP award is in recognition of his outstanding performance throughout the season.

Despite the failure in the playoffs, his leadership and dynamic style of play were noticed by the journalists and they decided that he was the MVP.

Lamar Jackson