Top 5 NBA Players with Most Awards

NBA stars shine with historic award achievements.

by Nouman Rasool
Top 5 NBA Players with Most Awards
© Sarah Stier/Getty Images

Tyrese Maxey of the Philadelphia 76ers has been named the NBA's Most Improved Player for the 2023-24 season, an honor announced during TNT's NBA playoff broadcast. Maxey, who has shown remarkable growth in his performance, edged out fellow finalists Coby White and Alperen Sengun for the prestigious accolade.

As the NBA playoffs continue, the league is set to reveal more of its major regular-season award winners on TNT. The announcements will kick off with the Sixth Man of the Year on Wednesday, followed by the Clutch Player of the Year and Coach of the Year on subsequent days.

The awards season will climax with the announcements for Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, and the highly coveted Most Valuable Player trophy. Introduced just last season, the Clutch Player of the Year award is still gaining its historical footing, with Sacramento Kings' De'Aaron Fox being its first recipient.

Unlike this and other player-centric awards, the Coach of the Year honors the strategic and motivational skills of the NBA's top coaches, highlighting their pivotal role in their teams' successes.

Icons of Excellence

Over the decades, several NBA players have distinguished themselves by accumulating multiple major awards throughout their careers.

This elite group is led by icons such as Michael Jordan and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who have not only defined excellence in their eras but have also set benchmarks for future generations. Michael Jordan, a legend for the Chicago Bulls, stands tall with seven major awards.

Jordan’s accolades include five MVP awards and a Defensive Player of the Year trophy, alongside his Rookie of the Year award in 1985. His comprehensive skill set and competitive spirit have left a lasting imprint on the league.

Tied with Jordan, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar also boasts seven major awards, including an NBA-record six MVP trophies. Abdul-Jabbar’s storied career with the Milwaukee Bucks and the Los Angeles Lakers showcased his dominance on the court from the moment he entered the league and claimed the Rookie of the Year award in 1970.

Following closely are LeBron James, Wilt Chamberlain, and Bill Russell, each with five major awards. LeBron James, still active in the league with the Los Angeles Lakers, has claimed four MVPs across his tenured career. Chamberlain and Russell, historical figures of the sport, dominated during their times, with Chamberlain also earning a Rookie of the Year title.

These players exemplify the pinnacle of basketball prowess and achievement, setting high standards and serving as inspirations for both current players and those who dream of future NBA stardom. As this season’s award announcements unfold, new tales of greatness will be written, adding to the rich history of the NBA’s celebrated heroes.