Team USA chooses the roaster for the 2023 FIBA World Cup

by   |  VIEW 658

Team USA chooses the roaster for the 2023 FIBA World Cup
Team USA chooses the roaster for the 2023 FIBA World Cup

Team USA has revealed the twelve players who will participate in the 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup, scheduled between late August and early September. Steve Kerr defined squad for World Cup 2023: Josh Hart, Brandon Ingram, Anthony Edwards, Tyrese Haliburton, Jalen Brunson, Mikal Bridges, Jaren Jackson Jr, Paolo Banchero, Bobby Portis, Austin Reaves, Cam Johnson and Walker Kessler.

USA are in group C together with Greece, New Zealand and Jordan. If they finish in one of the top two places, they will meet the group of Lithuania and Montenegro in the second round.

About the FIBA World Cup 2023

The 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup will be the 19th tournament of the FIBA Basketball World Cup for men's national basketball teams.

The tournament will be the second to feature 32 teams. For the first time in its history, the World Cup will be hosted by multiple nations in Asia; the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia, from 25 August to 10 September 2023.

It will be the first World Cup to be hosted in Indonesia, and the second to be hosted in both the Philippines and Japan since they first hosted the tournament in 1978 and 2006, respectively. The tournament will also be the second of three-straight World Cups to be held in Asia after China's hosting of the 2019 edition and Qatar's upcoming hosting of the 2027 tournament, and the first time in tournament history that a host nation has not qualified.

The tournament will serve as qualification for the 2024 Summer Olympics, where the top two teams from each of the Americas and Europe, and the top team from each of Africa, Asia and Oceania, will qualify alongside the tournament's host France.

Spain will be the defending champions, having beaten Argentina in the 2019 final. The tournament will be hosted in five venues in five separate cities. Three cities in the Greater Manila Area will host four preliminary round groups, two second round groups, and the final tournament phase from the quarter-finals onwards.

Okinawa and Jakarta will each host two preliminary round groups and one second round group. The Philippines will host 16 teams while Japan and Indonesia will host eight teams each.