Nairo Quintana hit by a car

by   |  VIEW 2895

Nairo Quintana hit by a car

Nairo Quintana was hit by a car while training in Colombia. His condition looks good. The cyclist, winner of the 2014 Giro d'Italia and 2016 Vuelta, suffered some bruising on his elbow and a blow on his left knee. He was taken to the hospital for instrumental tests and to rule out injuries.

The 30-year-old Colombian from Arkea-Samsic was between Tunja in Motavita when, according to the first findings of the local police, a car passed his flagship and hit him with the rear view mirror by dragging him to the ground.

Condor, who won the last stage of Paris-Nice last March, before cycling stopped for the coronavirus, therefore wanted to reassure everyone by sharing a video from the hospital on his team's Twitter account, in which he explained the dynamics of the accident: "I was unable to see the car, which came suddenly and overwhelmed me.

The road belongs to everyone and respect for people's lives must take precedence. It was a terrible fright, thanks for the messages of affection, I will keep you updated." Nairo Quintana in his career won a Giro d'Italia, in 2014 and a Spanish Vuelta, in 2016.

Furthermore, Quintana was twice second and once third at the Tour de France, winning the Mountains classification in the Tour de France in 2013 and the Young rider classification in the Tour de France in 2013 and 2015. In 2015 and 2017 he won the Tirreno-Adriatica.

He has a younger brother, Dayer, who is also a professional cyclist.

Giro d'Italia: here are all the teams present

In the meantime, the 22 teams that will race at the Giro d'Italia 2020 have been announced from 3 October.

The three wild cards have been assigned to Italian teams: Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec, Bardiani Csf Falzanè and Vini Zabù Ktm. Of the 22 teams that will run at the 103rd edition of the Italian Tour, 19 of which entered in the World Tour, they will consist of 8 runners each.

This is the complete list of the teams which will run in Italy: Ag2r La Mondiale (France), Astana (Kazakhstan), Bahrain-McLaren (Bahrain), Bora-Hansgrohe (Germany), CCC (Poland), Cofidis (France), Deceuninck- Quick Step (Belgium), Ef Pro Cycling (Usa), Groupama-Fdj (France), Israel Start-Up Nation (Israel), Lotto Soudal (Belgium), Mitchelton-Scott (Aus), Movistar (Spa), Ntt Pro Cycling (South Africa), Ineos (Great Britain), Team Jumbo Visma (Holland), Team Sunweb (Germany), Trek (Usa), UAE Emirates (United Arab Emirates).