There is a lot of talk these days about the boxing match between Oleksandr Usyk and Daniel Dubois, which ended with Usyk winning in the ninth round of the match. The crowd is divided over a disputed illegal punch below the belt by Daniel Dubois in the fifth round.
Some say it was a legal hit and some disagree. For a long time, no case has attracted more attention from the boxing public than this one. Johnny Nelson thinks the punch was legal, but he's not sure if Daniel Dubois would have won the fight.
Nelson says Oleksandr Usyk probably would have gotten up after that shot and won the rest of the match. “I don’t think the shot was illegal… And I think what Usyk did is what most footballers do when they get flicked over the ear and they roll about 15 times.
I think he milked it, he milked it well, but I think the best man won,” Nelson told as quoted by Boxing Scene. “I don’t think [Dubois] was robbed at all, I do think that it wasn’t a low blow, but I still don’t think he’d have beaten Usyk,” Nelson said.
Regardless of what Johnny Nelson says, we have to admit that it would be uncertain how quickly Oleksandr Usyk would have gotten up if the referees had not ruled the kick illegal.
Johnny Nelson: It was not a low blow
We will never know what would have happened, but the case caused a lot of controversy on social networks.
However, Johnny Nelson gave the advantage to Usyk. “Usyk could have hustled his way through the round, but the referee gave him time to recover. What makes you think Usyk couldn’t have recovered that round… I just think Usyk would still have had the skills to get through it, but we’ll never know, that’s the debate.
If most of us are true and honest we’d hoped that Daniel would win, he had a punchers chance to win the fight… and if they fight again the same thing will happen”.